My Coffee Judges You

7dc78b362c3311e39b6422000aa80460_7

Let’s see, what was this post for? Housekeeping and attempting to stocktake my brain, I think. Lots of loose ends around, and some writerly tribulations.

First up, wtf is with the so-many-views from Mumsnet?! I can’t even see how or what or…strange, super strange. But hi!

Second up, I see now why people who don’t work from home and have the luxury of structuring their day however they would like to fall behind on their TV-watching. I am particularly doing so as I have literally no time or space to myself, and won’t have until I can move into somewhere, which won’t happen until my new (delightful, joyous, cakecentric) job actually yields an income, a time I’m very much looking forward to. I realise now what a luxury a spontaneous 45-minute bath with The Good Wife actually was. Sigh. But in order to move forwards, one must, y’know, move, and that is happening. Hopefully on Thursday I can mainline everything I’ve been missing. And have that bath…

Third…it’s nearly November. And that, obviously, means NANOTIME (my username there is ‘antelope’ – come add me, if you haven’t XD). As ever, I will be doing this, and I will be winning it. I’m tempted to go for two projects again – one memoirish thing, one novel – but I haven’t quite decided. I do definitely want to get cracking on the sequel to because, actually, if I’m honest, because I miss Aiden. I really do. So it’d be pleasurably indulgent to crack on with that in November…

…but at the same time, I have to, really have to, wrap up this other, potentially saleable novel I’ve been wrestling for the last couple of years. It’s missing some really essential bits, as well as the removal of an entire timetravel segment (my silly brain wants to keep it in, but my logical, would-like-to-be-a-real-printed-author self has other opinions) to get to the truthful ‘first draft complete!’ phase, even. I mean, I’ve done a beginning, middle and an end, but there’s certainly a few letters of the alphabet missing, here and there.

Fourth, I suppose, is the lament that I’ve not written anything like as much as I’ve wanted to. I’ve slipped back into that “can’t start until I’m in just the right place” thing a bit, and I’ve been so frustrated and displaced with the living situation that I’ve not got at all comfortable enough to simply write. Obviously NaNo is the perfect remedy for this, and I’ve no qualms at all about completing that, but the stuff that can’t be NaNo-ed and must actually be paid attention to, that’s nagging at me rather a lot just at the moment. After all, one of the greatest lessons I learnt over the last year was that books can be decent, written, edited, finished and published even without having your own mahogany desk and a cat.

Fifth, working out. My body is really not dealing well with work, and being on my feet all day. I’ve not had back pain in years but I spent half of last night flat on my back on the floor coaxing muscles into various stretches and wincing every time I needed to get up. I know it’s because I haven’t grounded myself in weights enough of late, and I know I need to go back and get on with that before I have to start all over again, but, again, I actually have somewhere to be and things to do these days, so I can’t go and run myself into the ground knowing that I’ve got a whole day to recover in precisely the way I want to. Makes me realise how I’ve been training, and how there’s a new sort of balance I have to find. Shorter sets, fewer reps, gently, gently…it’s never really been my style…but then, much of all this upheaval and starting again is precisely because I sorely needed a new style. It only makes sense that something as crucial to me as my workouts changes too.

Sixth…I miss the internet. I’ve only just kept myself up to scratch with the latest on Miley Cyrus (which, I’ve realised, is my internet priority, shortly after the football scores and whether or not my friends have cut their hair). Everything past that, including, as above, all the latest in the world of TV, is all out the window. I’ve barely communicated with anyone, which is rather distressing. I hope you’re all well, etc, and you should probably email me if I’ve missed anything interesting about you because I care, I just, kinda suck. But you knew that, and have put up with it thus far, so, yeah. Email XD

Crikey, this is like an LJ entry or something, isn’t it? Anyway! Onwards…

11 thoughts on “My Coffee Judges You

  1. I’ve started clicking away when I see the word “Miley.” I can’t waste my time being upset when people fight over ridiculous things (and I do get stressed over it. CAN’T WE ALL JUST GET ALONG?!)

    I’ll add you as a buddy on NaNo (I’m KittySparkes). Good luck figuring out what you want to work on!

    • I know what you mean, although I’m still quite entranced by all the conversation she’s generating!

      I’m still leaning towards the sequel… We’ll see! I’m really looking forward to it this year…

      • Fabulous. You’re a natural. The post was also interesting, I must add. But my first priority was the coffee and a well done. I’m Nanoing at the moment. Got two days to catch up on. The story is a million miles from where I thought it would be. The river hasn’t even made an appearance and, I think, never will. My characters are discussing This Side of Paradise. It is making me happy.

      • ❤ Coffee is always the first priority!

        Yep, I've two days to catch up as well, if not three! And I've barely a handful of dialogue in my thousands of words, so I'd LOVE to get my characters talking about something. Alas, I have yet to have two characters that speak the same language, so…slight problem there XD

      • Ah. I see. There have been a few conversations as a means of character development but I’m kind of running the strands of four people’s lives over and across each other so the few conversations have served as the points at which they meet then go in different directions again. I’m always self conscious about dialogue though because it can sound so stupid if you get it wrong.

      • On the up side, if you know your characters, the dialogue can’t be wrong XD I think that’s the nice thing – after 50k, it’s difficult for a character voice not to have evolved into something consistent and strong!

Leave a Reply

